Stormy Weather

image

I swear, the only relief us South Texans get from the heat comes in the form of merciful “coldfronts.”  I think that’s what our winters are made of – a series of fronts strung together to keep the temperatures “fall-like” or “winter-like.”  This morning the temperature was 81 degrees, and the humidity was 90%.  Miserable.  The trails were a ghost town.  I decided to go long anyway.  I was shooting for 6 miles.

image

The tiny black specks in the distance are buzzards waiting for me to keel over.

I was soaked with sweat right away, but at least there was a breeze.  And then at mile 4 – drizzle!  The rain was glorious.  I stretched my arms out and closed my eyes for a second, taking it all in.  I could feel the temperature dropping a little.  The last 2 miles were easy.

image

Yay me!

It felt fantastic to reach 6 miles for the second time in my training.  My 10k is 4 weeks away and if the humidity is anything less than 90%, I will be a happy camper runner.

I’m dying to know – How is the weather in your area??

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Stormy Weather

  1. 278toBoston says:

    Still warm here, but not for long. 🙂 Great on your run!!!

  2. playfulpups says:

    Lately I have had perfect running weather (here in blustery NE Ohio). I know it won’t last and soon it will be bitter cold. Way to go on your long run!! I can imagine how great that rain felt! 🙂

  3. Running Girl says:

    It’s rainy and I love it! Although it’s keeping me from running…..I’ve always said – Texas has two seasons – Summer and Christmas. I can only imagine what it’s like for you in the south!

    • Haha that’s so true about our “seasons!” We all talk about “remember that day it snowed like 20 years ago?” Or “The Ice Day in ’96” lol! I was born and raised here and will never get used to it!

      • Running Girl says:

        I went to college in San Antonio and remember Ice Day ’96. Mainly because I thought I was going to die driving back to school from Dallas. And then the heat was out in our dorms. Oh the good ol’ days! Would you believe our storm chasers are out chasing an approaching cold front this morning? Pathetic!

      • How funny – I was at UT Austin during the “Ice Day!” Yeah it’s pretty sad when a cold front makes headline news, but we sure do welcome it!

  4. Cold mornings and hot in the afternoons! I am looking forward to rainy days! Great job on the run! 🙂

Leave a Reply

